top of page

The Private Pilots Licence

Key Info

This is an ICAO (International Civil Aviation Organisation) Licence recognised across the world & is regulated in the UK by the CAA (Civil Aviation Authority) under the direction of EASA (European Aviation Safety Agency). This licence gives you the freedom to pilot an aircraft within your qualified category not just within the UK but worldwide. The privileges of this licence allow you to fly privately (not for remuneration or for any commercial operation).

Whats involved?

45 hours flight training which includes the following:

  • 10 hours supervised solo flight time.

  • A solo cross-country flight of at least 150 nautical miles landing at 2 airfields along the route and then returning to the airfield of departure.

  • 25 hours dual flight instruction.

In addition to the flight time there are nine ground exams which you will need to pass. All are multiple choice answers in subjects that hopefully you will enjoy learning. The exams are an integral part of becoming a safe, competent and experienced pilot and the minimum pass mark is 75%.

These are:

  • Air Law,

  • Aeroplane General

  • Principles of Flight

  • Flight Performance and Planning

  • Navigation

  • Meteorology

  • Human Performance and Limitations

  • Operational Procedures

  • Communications

On completion of your flight training you will have a Skills Test with a CAA Authorised Examiner to demonstrate the skills learnt. You will then be issued with a UK Private Pilots Licence that will enable you to fly a single engine aircraft in daylight hours and in sight of the surface. 

Interested In The Private Pilots License?

bottom of page